The End of an Error

I’m not surprised you came today.
Sharing was supposed to be so easy.
You said all I had to do was bleed.

Just speak without a conscience, without care.
So I promised I’d never lie to you.
Then I just went and made everything up.

See, I never wanted to trust everything you told me.
After all, my heart couldn’t be damaged anymore than it was.
And so today we say goodbye to a life of words.

You win, I’m all bled out.

Combining NaPoWriMo and Poem-A-Day prompts again today. The former asking for a ten-line poem made of ten lies. The latter looked for an elegy, a song for the departed. After this, I’m afraid you’ll feel as confused as I do today.

4 Comments

  1. a bit edgy, this. how wonderful :))

  2. I love it.

  3. guess we do need to know when to fold them

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,525 other followers

