Over and Out

Running Man

Running Man (Photo credit: Image Zen)

There’s that door. Please, let me pass, I want over,
on its other side. Taking this heat only serves
to make me colder, harder, more isolated.
I can do that easily.
I’ve been serving in solitary many years
on this craggy Elba of slate blue Alone.

So please back up, move over,
let me out before I use this hardness
to break things that should remain pretty
on the shelves of memory lining these walls with
but this one door. One that swings out, I discovered,
when finally I lifted my eyes from the floor.

D’you know stepping out from one side of a door
is stepping into something new on the other?

2 thoughts on “Over and Out

  1. “…..Taking this heat only serves to make me colder……” Wow. Now that’s incredible writing, Joe! You amaze me in new and different ways with each new piece you write. Great stuff!

  2. Ooh, I had static down my arms by the second verse .. wonderful lines here ” One that swings out, I discovered/when I finally lifted my eyes from the floor”

Leave a Reply

