Sole to Soul

senses

senses (Photo credit: joaoloureiro)

The air moves past my skin just as I move
through its birdsong-bounded reality.
I sensed neither its touch nor its whisper
for so long. Deep inside, listening, hearing
the voices of so many mimicked by mine
and their message consistent…
No, you can’t… You’ll never… Why do you?…
If you’d only…

If I’d only known how to break out
of that self-imposed imprisonment,
the isolation from truth, reality,
as simply real as air, the distant whirring
chirping and cheeping wall of noise
that scratches like fine sandpaper on my senses,
the raw smell of dirt just before the rain
walks fully into the room.

And the comfort of love—of self, of others,
from you. And now, yes, I can…
I stop moving, it felt so like a plunge
to those depths again and I’m not
going there anymore. No, I can’t…
I stand still, close my eyes and deeply
steep myself in memory, savoring
this feeling of Us from sole to soul.

Linked to the August 21, 2012 Open Link Night at dVerse Poets Pub

25 thoughts on “Sole to Soul

  1. Loved the resolution and the purposeful use of the pun at the end:

    I stand still, close my eyes and deeply
    steep myself in memory, savoring
    this feeling of Us from sole to soul.

    Very well done.

  2. This really resonated for me..it’s so hard to turn off those voices, sometimes….we need to change them to positive ones, and it’s wonderful when we find someone who can help us do that. Lovely poem, dear Joe 🙂 xxx

  3. Enjoy standing in the moment Joe, really let it embrace you. Really like this one, I will be reading it again the next time I feel that downward pull. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. I’ve spent a great deal of life wondering if I met standards and made standards more important than other aspects in life. One of my battles is to knock down the concerns about perceptions and find happiness within myself and my family. Beautiful work, Joe.

  5. Wow…to read your poem on the aftermath of Tash’s! I think I have to take a break. Poetry that smacks you in the gut like this one (and hers) is a bit like having a breakthrough in therapy. The images you chose are so good.

  6. “and I’m not
    going there anymore.”

    A realization, a strong resolve to step out from the “past” to the reality of “now.” Accepting the gift of love from others isn’t easy, especially if one feels undeserving. Beautifully captured, Joe.

  7. a very refreshing poem. how acute the pain of being restrained…”If I’d only known how to break out/ of that self-imposed imprisonment,” and then comparing freedom..”the raw smell of dirt just before the rain/ walks fully into the room”….and final attainment…”I stand still, close my eyes and deeply/ steep myself in memory, savoring/ this feeling of Us from sole to soul.” A very satisfying poem indeed.

Leave a Reply

