If I Fall

Photo by Joseph Hesch

If I was to fall,
to light upon the grass
in the autumn of it all,
the world wouldn’t hear me.
So many of us just fall and
people only notice us, kick us aside,
on the path to their own fall.
The others don’t drop
with the sound of crashing limbs.
They sing no death song.
Only if the fickle winds of being
drive ahead those who have fallen,
shall all hear them rustle
and collide in a sonata
of whir and crackle.

All save me.
I shall float silently as
I once did when I flew
on the coursing winds
among those not yet fallen.
I shall swirl and race past all,
a soft-inked quill lifting
nightwings in silent hunt
for your beating heart.
Each new breath, each exhalation
of line, life and love, supports
my flight in a near-death tours en l’air
and gliding glissade on my way
to grasp the tenderness of you.

Looked down from the back porch and saw this bit of white fluff, as out of place as autumn leaves in August. But there it was! From that came the first line…

Linked for dVerse Poets Pub Open Link Night.

19 thoughts on “If I Fall

  1. A wistful & beautiful poem….I love the second verse and the last line…”each new breath, each exhalation of line, life and love”…gorgeous! 🙂 xo

  2. Simply superb!!!! Your words take me to very unique trip, each time. “….my flight in a near-death tours en l’air/ and gliding glissade on my way/ to grasp the tenderness of you.” Can there be anything more tender? Thoroughly enjoyed!!!!

  3. What a perfect response to the photo you took, Joe. During my walks, I’ve noticed lots of feathers and yesterday, an eviscerated dove. It pains me sometimes to face the reality of Mother Nature. We have hawks and an occasional eagle in the area. And so it is–predation at all levels. But your poem takes off in a direction of gentle beauty and I applaud the fact that your poet’s eye noticed!

  4. Really nice. Opening the eyes and being receptive to what is around is, sometimes inspires us to create some remarkable poetry. Surely the case here. Love how there are so many really good lines here, that are multi-layered in possible meaning, but also how when all is together, the words work building the flow here. Strong write. Thanks

  5. Those type of feathers, the soft down under coat are what we call ‘Bum fluff’ in England. I’m glad you took a photograph, it’s lovely. Your poem is as soft, and yet, so poignant in that, there are so many who do fall and, go unnoticed or, kicked aside by others struggling to stay up. But, yes, it is love and being loved which gives us a reason to pick ourselves back up and fly again.
    Beautiful thoughts Joseph.

  6. “So many of us just fall and people only notice us, kick us aside, on the path to their own fall.” This poem is not just white fluff, there’s a deeper meaning. Very cool, Joe.

Leave a Reply

