Dark Harvest

Photo by Joseph Hesch

October winds and rains cleared
the branches and stretched
my piece of sky’s once red arbor edges.
You would think one might see,
once the light comes again,
more feathers in the trees
usurping the old territory of
now-ground blanketing leaves’.
But, as dawn stretches maples’
cold skeleton-shadow hands
to rap at my door,
no robins’ songs awaken me,
nor the screech of crows
chanting their harsh
morning prayers.

The 5:30 freight train’s
forlorn whistle, as it
hauls westward the night,
replaced mourning doves’
lowing signal that morning’s on
my leaf-tossed doorstep.
It signals another Fall harvest
of days’ memories, the yield
of a life spent searching
for something that would grow
from dreams but never did.
But it brought forth
this comforting creation,
a new life, where before
nothing but darkness informed
my cold and drowsy thoughts.

28 thoughts on “Dark Harvest

  1. I love these moments… time’s passing presented to us on a platter, and there’s so much to miss if we don’t pay attention. Already, I miss the robins.

  2. “You would think one might see,
    once the light comes again,
    more feathers in the trees
    usurping the old territory of
    now-ground blanketing leaves’.”

    I love that image. Great piece!

  3. i am glad that light has enetered in…i loved the bit about the train as well..i grew up by the tracks…i was home this weekend and there was comfort in hearing the train come through in the morning…

  4. Love how you captured both the moment, and the season’s change by reflecting on the birds and their song (or lack of it) in your little corner of the world. And yet, it is comforting to know that new life has taken hold. A lovely write, my friend.

  5. morning dawned inside me
    brightness filled not my room but my soul
    made me rise and uphold
    my thoughts were not cold
    just needed some warmth and freshness
    that only your smile could bring..thank you my friend
    the silent breeze…the morning rays,, the rustling leaves
    I wish you all..good day :))

Leave a Reply

