Hope

Aerial photos of New Jersey coastline in the a...

It’s a pretty thing I hear, this Hope.
I trust there’s some of it near
for all those folks who lost theirs.
We may not be able to see it,
but its cousin, Faith, tells us it’s there.
No, haven’t really felt it, and
I don’t smell it. I’m told it’s redolent
of vanilla puppies eating sugar cookies
on the laps of guardian angels
in ever-pressed robes of light.

And it’s coming…

That’s the rumor anyway.
I guess that’s Hope for you, though.
Usually late, always dressed to perfection,
but invisible, so it doesn’t matter
what it wears. Even if it’s
only waders and a smile.
Just so it eventually shows up.
Preferably with simple gifts.
Maybe more cookies. Anything’s okay
It is coming, right?

2 thoughts on “Hope

  1. One of my favorite excerpts is from Emily Dickinson:
    “Hope is the thing with feathers
    That perches in the soul.
    And sings the tune
    Without the words,
    and never stops at all.”
    But I think I like your poem just as well, especially liking:
    “it doesn’t matter
    what it wears. Even if it’s
    only waders and a smile.”
    So many are trying to keep the faith, may “hope” be theirs as well, in waders and bearing simple gifts. Thanks so much for sharing this. It is a timely and lovely piece.

  2. “…redolent of vanilla puppies eating sugar cookies
    on the laps of guardian angels
    in ever-pressed robes of light.”

    I know now what to look for, thank you.

    Excellent writing, my ever more prolific friend. I believe in the good of people and from that good is where hope will rise. Since I believe, then I have faith.

Leave a Reply

