Escapes

Eden waiting

Eden waiting (Photo credit: HibaHaba)

We wear tags around our necks here,
lest they be impounded like dogs.
Except, unlike our canine brethren,
because we wear these badges
bearing puppy-aged portraits
of when we were captured,
we are impounded,
shut into cubicle kennels.

I’m digging my way out.
Right now. More each day.
I use a penpoint shovel to make holes
in the grounding of reality and,
if need be, I’ll sprout wings
made of white paper to fly to you.
You who abet my escape by investigating
my daily forays toward freedom.

Each time you pick me up,
pull me out of this dreadful state,
I’ll get frantically excited,
my mind will wriggle
with more tail-wagging
tale waggery. I may even tinkle.
It can be a messy business,
this blessed escapism.

4 thoughts on “Escapes

  1. Joe, I slipped out of my tag and discovered a feeling of lightness. I found that I didn’t need that occasional hand on my back or the words “good job” anymore.
    Wonderful metaphors here. Good morning. 🙂

  2. I’m digging my way out.
    Right now. More each day.
    I use a penpoint shovel to make holes
    in the grounding of reality

    I love this poem but this was my favorite part. It seems digging out with a pen through paperwork that has more cruelly heaped on day after day. I hope you are rescued soon! With your tail waggling!

  3. Even though I got shoved out of the “kennel” sooner than I would have liked, I am grateful for each day now, surrounded by pristine mountains and clean air. The tags now carry only a memory of some of the good friends I left behind.

  4. A lovely piece Joe!!! You have reflected beautifully what so many of us feel acutely!!! The simple mention of escape provides such euphoria ” Each time you pick me up/ pull me out of this dreadful state/ I’ll get frantically excited” yet why it always end: “It can be a messy business/ this blessed escapism.” The answer my friend; is in mind of us all!!!! Brilliant work indeed.

Leave a Reply

