Purple Awakening

Purple Clouds

Purple Clouds (Photo credit: amandabhslater)

Purple clouds daub the eastern sky,
bruising reminders of this,
my abusive relationship with winter
and dawn. I traverse the slippery slope
of driveway, highway, my way,
to get this body where it is scheduled to be.
So, with two left feet on the gas,
I lock myself in this well-rehearsed,
one-track commute to and from
everyday butt whoopings.
But whoopings are what I learned
(somewhere) someone’s got to take
for the team, and it’s not right for
just anyone to be that someone.
No one can do it so well as I.
That’s how I got these garlands
of that purple I wear hidden
from dawn to sunset…
and from you and often even me.

2 thoughts on “Purple Awakening

  1. Joe, I love the imagery in this combined with the photograph you choose.

    And the lines of
    “Purple clouds daub the eastern sky,
    bruising reminders of this,
    my abusive relationship with winter
    and dawn.”

    It drew me in and didn’t let me go. Wonderful.

Leave a Reply

