Falling Leaves

January Pages

January Pages (Photo credit: alykat)

That dog-eared, marked-up 12-page manuscript
on the wall gets changed again tonight for
a revised version with page numbers shifted
and the title respelled. I’ve seen a lot of these
restockings a handful of sunrises after hanging
of Christmas stockings on the day this slim volume’s
denouement says we’re supposed to. Then, The End.

I thought about this construct for a long time,
while counting all the so-called Mondays to Fridays
and how many full leaf-falls until I can scribble
my own manuscript full of leaves. Recently I figured out
I’m not as old as these calendars say I am
simply because a certain number of Septembers
fell like any other pages from the trees.

11 thoughts on “Falling Leaves

  1. this is why i stopped wearing a watch, marking time like that, always checking it, ticking it off… it is the same with our days… a calendar is just a book full of numbers. i prefer to mark time’s passing with the seasons, mother nature tells me everything i need to know. lovely write!

  2. I thought I left a comment here before but I’m going into spam for some reason on a few blogs! I wondered if one could gather Septembers like flowers instead of falling leaves. Time is friend and enemy, no doubt. Loved your poem. Happy New Year.

  3. ..this is like asking one: how many autumn does a person have…? we can only ask question like this… giving answer/s is too long to figure out… happy new year… smiles..

  4. “and how many full leaf-falls until I can scribble
    my own manuscript full of leaves.”
    Resonates with me, though I know I do not write something as simple as a calendar (which took a few hundred years to revise and edit so we could agree about the time passages). So I love the new thought that changes the count in stanza #2. But who’s counting?
    Scribble on, dear poet!

  5. Joe- great poem. I read this as pointing to ‘time as a construct’ and ‘self perception’…that it is never too late, and we can carve out of our lives what we want to. Hope im not missing the point! but thats what your words said to me!- i really liked the close…

    I’m not as old as these calendars say I am
    simply because a certain number of Septembers
    fell like any other pages from the trees.

    That, my friend, is great

Leave a Reply

