Five Sentence Fiction ~ Forgotten

Lost and Found

Forest dream!

Forest dream! (Photo credit: VinothChandar)

Over the din of the television, I turned toward my girlfriend and mumbled, “I got lost the other night.”

My girlfriend–having muted the TV for a commercial–said, “What do you mean ‘lost,’ like you forgot your way home?”

“No, I knew my way home…it was just…never mind…just a guy thing.”

I took a deep breath and recalled how the noise of life subsided that night, how confusion and joy mixed in the warmth of a certain smile, how in that moment I felt free of being who I was and suddenly realized who I am.

As the volume came back up I closed my eyes and I think I might have grinned as I walked back down that dark path, getting lost again, leaving home…for home.

Lillie McFerrin Writes

Here is my latest Five Sentence Fiction offering, based on a prompt from Lillie McFerrin. This week: Forgotten.

6 thoughts on “Five Sentence Fiction ~ Forgotten

  1. This is nice. Discovering real self again by getting lost within. I really like last lines ” getting lost again, leaving home…for home.” Good read!!!

  2. This is the best kind of being lost, far away from the noise and clamor of our daily lives. Beautifully written. I think he needs a new girlfriend, she seems to have tuned him out in favor of tv.

Leave a Reply

