Skycasting

Toenail Clipping

Toenail Clipping (Photo credit: MightyBoyBrian)

This early morning’s fish hook moon,
streaming those glowing pink clouds,
looked like it was a trout fly cast
by some grand ethereal angler
to catch the sun-kissed silver-
bellied US Airways flight out of
Albany International Airport.

I’ve snagged orange-dappled, Florida-bound
Southwest 737 bass in that pond.
And once I baited my barbed shank
with a little dull gray commuter minnow
to catch a trophy Air Canada muskie
from Toronto to London, where I was
angling for a publisher.

Which brings me back to those
salmon-pink hackles and that
excuse-me sliver of moon trolling
the peachy southern sky this morning.
The USAir flight was one that got away
from that airborne bait. But, son of a gun,
if it didn’t hook me something fierce.

6 thoughts on “Skycasting

  1. Love this line:

    “sun-kissed silver-
    bellied US Airways flight out of
    Albany International Airport.”

    This is one of those “Wow” poems that needs reading again. So much going on in there. You coming back to London, Joe?

  2. Love the middle stanza especially …

    “And once I baited my barbed shank
    with a little dull gray commuter minnow
    to catch a trophy Air Canada muskie
    from Toronto to London, where I was
    angling for a publisher.”

  3. Amazing, all we can see in the clouds. We should start all children doing this when they’re small. My father and I used to rest back against the cellar door. He showed me castles, horses dancing, kings on thrones. Great post.

    Peace and all good,
    Diane

  4. Excuse me sliver of moon trolling

    Saddled here with blistering gumption
    To inform you

    I’m suddened with awe.

    The winter here thaws my caged longings
    A rush
    Forward pulsing kinetic dreams
    Of the fish to my fingers
    An anxious-most touch

    Though on this side of your shared brainwave
    The minnows have a literal feel

    Ethereal, likewise
    Though no more/less real

    I’m taken to your point of view
    Candescendt and eclipsing
    In the midnight sleepless room

Leave a Reply

