2:00 AM

moonlit

moonlit (Photo credit: Robert S. Donovan)

Listen! You can hear the house,
a stick and brick bellows,
breathe through the vent,
creaking and snapping
in its respiration.
It’s 2:00 AM and my world,
from this room on out,
is in blackness.
It is our time.
We are the nocturnals,
these sounds and I,
never more alive in
my heartbeat consciousness
than in this drowsy darkness.

Like fox outside my window,
I know every trail of my
two-story territory. I prowl
its landscape with the vision
of no vision, where I sense,
stalk, pounce and take
my prey of words
back to this wizened
warren upon my pillow.
A comfort, this awakening,
a tempering of my
cold emotional gloom
with the warm embrace
of tangible shadow.

And it conveys such
radiance to my days.

2 thoughts on “2:00 AM

Leave a Reply

