Small Worlds

The Antennae Galaxies are undergoing a collisi...

The Antennae Galaxies are undergoing a collision that will result in their eventual merger. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So small are the worlds in which I exist.
Sometimes I even live in them.
Bedroom, front seat, cubicle, arm-chair,
kitchen, even my Nature comes bounded
by walls and fences.

Luckily, inside me, vast galaxies turn,
spinning silky reality from whimsy and
make-believe, fabricated of chewed-up,
cobbled-together bits of
my stunted actuality.

I know, the physics of this make no sense,
but I only got as far as chemistry in high school
and a bit of alchemy when I started
this  nature of work and these works
of what’s become My nature.

3 thoughts on “Small Worlds

  1. love it – where i exist vs where i live, an important distinction & how many of us really are aware of that… the middle stanza brilliantly encapsulates the nature of the serious poet’s ‘real’ world

  2. This is just wonderful. This reminds me if Indian scripturs “The Vedas” In which it is described “I within the universe….Universe within I.” Lovely words and the last stanza brings it all down-to-earth “I know, the physics of this make no sense,/ but I only got as far as chemistry in high school/ and a bit of alchemy when I started/ this nature of work and these works/ of what’s become My nature.” Superb!!!

Leave a Reply

