Dawn’s Blazing

Buck Mtn

Buck Mtn (Photo credit: mopar05ram)

This sun yellow pencil lost its great weight
and near-death infirmity overnight.
It arose like dawn from its sickbed
and, come the morning, once again
we hiked around this open space
visiting its mountainous thoughts and questions,
but not so many enshadowed answers.
We leave our blaze marks upon the snowy spirits
of once-towering Adirondack arboreal tribes
to find our way to and from whispered
babblings of sun-flecked streams
of the conscious and the not, so
full of smooth green-slicked rocks and
pin-prick inspirations darting like shiners.
I hear windsongs breathing suggestively
across my woodwind ears. We mark down
their messages and and pray forgiveness
for exposing this sacred place.
Why couldn’t we find it yesterday?
And why, I wonder, would I ever wish
to find my way back to that place
of mere near-life again?

2 thoughts on “Dawn’s Blazing

  1. Beautiful, Joe…I love ‘I hear windsongs breathing suggestively
    across my woodwind ears.’ …you’re always so descriptive…It’s great when we can ‘see’ again 🙂 xox

  2. Lovely word play indeed. The phonetics is very catchy & lively which helps complete picture “I hear windsongs breathing suggestively/ across my woodwind ears.” & that eternal question that answers itself “And why, I wonder, would I ever wish/ to find my way back to that place/ of mere near-life again?” Superb!!

Leave a Reply

