Leaning Tower

leaning-tower

leaning-tower (Photo credit: wwphotos)

The consuming ache has locked
away the keys to my heart and soul.
The door did not close with a bang,
but with a whispered click. This
abandoned church-tower body,
its bricks bulging on one side,
and missing on the other,
plays a tenuous balancing act
not so much of “Will he fall?”
but more “How is he still standing?”

There is duty involved in
a building’s remaining upright.
You might see an oh-so-slightly
canted pile of steel and glass,
wood and brick, muscle and bone.
I see and I feel the pain and strain
of spine waiting for an end.
That is unless I find another way
to break in and rescue the keys
and true-up this imagination again.

Blew out my back and the pain and strain locked away my ability to create and even imagine. I couldn’t allow that to happen after I had released it from its 35-year stint of solitary confinement. This free-write is my first attempt to set it free again.

6 thoughts on “Leaning Tower

  1. Well…hope the back pain subsides…and free writes always have a different ‘truthful’ grit to them. Hope the leaning tower does not entirely fall.

  2. Well…hope the back pain subsides…and free writes always have a different ‘truthful’ grit to them. Hope the leaning tower does not entirely fall.

  3. I totally get it with back pain. I spent years dealing with that issue and it steals all forms of movement from you. Love the metaphor of “solitary confinement” as well. Determination is the key to healing. This free write is the first step.

Leave a Reply

