Pouring

Vintage Coffee Pot - Gold

Vintage Coffee Pot – Gold (Photo credit: Ann Douglas)

An entire sea of water can’t sink a ship unless it gets inside the ship.
Similarly, the negativity of the world can’t put you down unless you allow it to get inside you.

I am a vessel, probably more empty than filled,
not a glass holding a metaphysical question of fullness,
but more a coffee pot with a permanently stuck-on top.
My contents will pour, if I decide to share,
but it will be damned difficult for you to share yours,
if I decide to let you share. I’ve never gone dry,
though I’ve known more dregs in my heart
than overflowing sloshes.

To slosh connotes a messy decanting
and I am careful to be free yet neat in that
which I share. I locked on my top a long time ago,
not to keep all to myself, but to keep yours to yourself,
your splashes of vitriol, anger, acrid and sour.
I have enough of my own poison settled there
at the bottom of this tin pot, dented by time.

But, please, if you wish to mingle the nectar
of kindness, love, and peace with my poor pour,
I shall turn absolutely acrobatic to help you.
I shall respond with the cream of all I am
if you wish to mingle with the remains
of this old vessel, this heart, scarred
and still more empty than filled.

I wrote this free-write poem in response to a prompt from my friend Kellie Elmore’s Free Write Friday for June 29, 2013. This week she asked us to write something inspired (and you never know where inspiration might take me) by the quote at the top of this piece. So there you are.

10 thoughts on “Pouring

  1. Pingback: Pouring | Pick my brain

  2. Absolutely brilliant!! Joseph you are a word-alchemist. However mundane a topic you very carefully, meticulously and using your superb craft manage to make the final presentation shine like diamond in a single ray of light. The craft starts its work with: “I locked on my top a long time ago, not to keep/ all to myself, but to keep yours to yourself,” then taking it to another level by: “I have enough of my own settled there/ at the bottom of this tin pot, dented by time.” so smooth is the transition that one is drawn in to this word-vortex without notice!! Now this word-alchemist turns on his best: “if you wish to mingle with the remains/
    of this old vessel, this heart, scarred/ and still more empty than filled.” Joseph, please keep on gushing forth with your immense creativity!!

  3. not to keep to myself but not to overwelm myself with your own passion…the measure of intentions in the last stanza before you open up to them and allow the mingling…i like that the heart is more empty than filled there in the end…it leaves room

  4. Well, you did an incredible job responding to the prompt! Empty means there is still space for what is yet to come, and then, you can simply overflow.

  5. Joe, I think this is perhaps the first time this ever happened to me: I wished I could have been inside your brain as you allowed this poem to create in you. Such a great analogy/metaphor…whatever. The creative process is so mysterious and I sure would have liked to have witnessed it unfold.

  6. This is brilliant, Joe … and so true! We all have way too much rubbish of our own inside us to be able to cope with the garbage other people try to dump on/in us as well.

Leave a Reply

