When I Shine My Darkness Upon You

Darkness falls

When I was young, darkness held
the heartbeat thump, the maybe crash,
of unknowns, inevitable, evil,
death-dealing dread only defended
by bedside night-lights and Pater Nosters.
But the shadow creatures never came
and I grew to welcome dark’s embrace.

Only during those times was I truly alone,
empty of the harsh light, the reality
of crushing days, perfectly comfortable
and conversant with myself in ways
daylight and I would never share.
Now, it is the dark upon which I dote,
the dawn and its daylong drudgery I dread.

Not even closing my eyes to the glare
of day is enough. You probably wouldn’t
understand this reassuring touch,
this love I feel in the unlit,
though you might catch a glimpse
when I shine my darkness upon you.
Thus.

 

2 thoughts on “When I Shine My Darkness Upon You

  1. A nice brain twister with this one, Joe; leaving us to fill in the divers blanks as to why the protagonist prefers night to day. Still trying to figure out what the “unit” is; nice job.

Leave a Reply

