Can Only Tell You

FWF 12-27-13

Once, spatterings of who I am would drop
onto the page with the certainty of gravity.
They poured like rain in an empty jungle
silent and secret. And when I opened
the road to me, you tore out
some of my simple sheets to paper
the walls of your hidden places.

Your smiling oughta’s and supposed-to’s,
my shoulda’s and what-if’s, all have dammed me,
punishing with expectation, confining
my thoughts, hopes, even loves.
I can’t reach in to clear them out.
I am stranded somewhere between an ocean
and desert with nowhere to turn.

So I will wander around this page
today, maybe even tomorrow, looking
for a home, hoping I can find another
route to that lost me. Whether
you come along is up to you.
I can’t tell you what to do.
I can only tell you.

 

13 thoughts on “Can Only Tell You

  1. To be lost in the endless circle of what if and if onlys seems hopeless at times. It only takes one step sideways to finally start moving forward, and even though it may seem like it at times, we are never truly alone. 🙂

Leave a Reply

