Dweedles

Who are you,
dweedle-dweedle-dweedle?
I hear you calling from
the redbud trees, but I can’t
find you in this morning light.
Are you looking for a friend,
dweedle-dweedle-dweedle?
I hear lots of other’s singing
their songs, too. I don’t speak
their trilling tongue, so
I don’t know if they recognize
your poem, either.

I sing each day, too,
dweedle-dweedle-dweedle.
It’s uncertain if I’m singing to
an anyone or a flock.
Ever think we’re singing
only to ourselves?
I’m glad we talked today,
dweedle-dweedle-dweedle.
Maybe you could listen to my song
someday, too. In its own way
it goes something like yours.

A catch-up day drabble about a conversation I had this morning, Day 21 of Poem-A-Day April/NaPoWriMo 2014. They all can’t be as good as my avian brother’s poems.

One thought on “Dweedles

Leave a Reply

