Then Trust Me

Trust Me

“Nancy told me today Sasha’s coming to visit her tomorrow, so I’m going over to see her, my savior,” Lacey said in a tone as pregnant with hope as her belly, which was in its second trimester with our child.

I sighed long and loud with the memory that a year and a half earlier, Lacey had engaged in an affair with Sasha, who Lacey’s statement implied had saved her from me, or the me from three years before Lacey and I met, when I was head over heels in love with Sasha, who was utterly irresistible to everyone, knew it, and was comfortable with it.

“Sorry, that was just me being selfish and stupid…I told you I’d never be that way again, and I haven’t been…I mean really, right?”

“Then trust me,” Lacey said, rolling herself up to kiss my cheek, then rolling back and closing her eyes, an angelic half-smile on her face.

I rolled over, too, facing the wall, and didn’t sleep the rest of the night, thinking about her.

A Five Sentence Fiction based on Lillie McFerrin’s prompt word: TRUST.

2 thoughts on “Then Trust Me

Leave a Reply

