His Final Offer

“I’d give up my life for you, you know,” Ben Sawchuck eventually whispered into Connie Aldrich’s ear.

“Let’s hope it doesn’t come to that, okay?” Connie said, looking straight into her glass.

“I’m just saying, I’d give you my last kidney if that transplant list lotto thingy doesn’t go your way,” he said as the afternoon fundraiser began petering out and the regular bar crowd began warming up.

“Seriously, you’ve weirded me out and I know this just a bid to get me to go to bed with you, so thank you for coming and good night,” Connie said, and huffed away from the bar toward the door where her friends waited.

“So what’s the deal…I’m not your type?” Ben called out, establishing a new record from the social high board at Brickhouse Grill for a backward double entendre with two twists, one of stupidity and the other of tone-deafness.

A horrible five sentence fiction attempt based on Lillie McFerrin’s prompt word: OFFERING.

5 thoughts on “His Final Offer

  1. Wow – I love how you use cliques, changing a word or two that jars the forming picture in my mind. I always smile when I see you have a new post.

Leave a Reply

