Overlooking the Obvious

I’m open to your suggestion,
I said to the sky.
And the wind replied with a sigh,
giving me the cold shoulder
and a shivering, withering brush-off.
I’m willing to look at things
in a new light, I told low winter sun.
She blinked behind a wisp,
a sky-borne snow scarf,
ducked behind a gray curtain,
making shadow puppets
of the passing clouds.
C’mon, Nature, fill me
with inspiration,
I whispered to the cardinals,
these pennants adorning
skeleton maples.
An empty mitten oak leaf
scurried across virgin snowpack
to its slushy demise.
And Nature said, “I just did.”

One thought on “Overlooking the Obvious

  1. So adorable……nature’s nascent hints that occur all around us, all the time & in our hurried passage we fail to notice!!! Absolutely marvelous write, Joseph thanks for bringing this so much so obvious that otherwise remains hidden 🙂

Leave a Reply

