I Dared to Eat a Peach

Autumn_Red_peaches

I ate that unknown fruit
you dared me to
that long ago September.
I sniffed it five times,
brushed its velvet skin
against my lips seven more.
Nibble, nibble, nibble
and two more tiny bites
and I was as inside
its flesh as much as
it was within mine.
Its juices flowed from
my mouth in sweet rivulets,
I’d never tasted before.
I was left with a stone,
like my hard heart, that
each had once hidden
behind the pink and red.
I planted them in a row
upon a page where soon
my orchard of poems
did grow.

Poem #8, another 100-worder, in Poem-a-Day NaPoWriMo 2015. So glad I dared to eat that haiku of a peach.

Leave a Reply

