How to Write a Poem

Daydreaming_Gentleman
A daydreaming gentleman;
from an original 1912 postcard published in Germany,

via Wikipedia.

First you sit down and
look out the window.
Whether a framed bit of glass or
a soft hole in your soul,
doesn’t matter. Then you wait,
looking for the ripples in
the breeze and listening for
the colors of nature,
human and otherwise,
to reveal themselves.
Did I mention you have to
do this with your heart?
Sorry, those are the rules.
I never realized, when I
was a boy, that I was writing
poems when I would stare
at the world and you,
whether you were in front of me
or not. I just forgot
to write down the details of
how the air around you glowed,
how the songs of birds shone
blue and yellow and how it
felt to touch you with my heart
when I wasn’t touching you at all.
Until today.

Poem #10 for NaPoWriMo 2015. A “How…” poem, that changed when I looked out that second window.

2 thoughts on “How to Write a Poem

  1. That’s an incredible poem!
    I am genuinely stunned by it’s beauty and I say this most sincerely.
    So someone else knows how it feels to write a poem as opposed to how it thinks or how it is anything else, this is how it feels!
    The rhythm and flow are sublime, this is one I am coming back to again.

    PS I rarely re-blog anything but I would love to do so with this, thanks for posting, Kevin.
    A framed bit of glass or a hole in the soul! Awesome!

Leave a Reply

