When the Poets Got Together

When the poets got together,
it was like when lawyers do.
The same intellectual insecurities
and jealousies, arrogance and aural
daubing en plein air can manifest themselves
in a coffee shop or gallery
the same as in a courtroom or boardroom.
And everyone will laugh,
ha ha, titter, haw,
maybe like a cocktail party laugh,
because we’re all so adult and smart,
so attuned to the knowledge
not many can do what we do
with words, ideas and the courage
to stand there peeling back
the layers of poesy in a cerebral
dance of the seven veils.
Most of us never quite expose
the full monty, just show enough
skin to keep the listeners interested.
Or figuring how big you think
my ass looks unwrapped from this
gauzy ghost or canny canvas of a metaphor?
Ha ha, titter, haw, indeed.

5 thoughts on “When the Poets Got Together

  1. Very good! A friend of mine once sent out a request for a collective noun for poets, after due consideration the consensus was that the best offering was “a jealousy of poets” What do you think?

  2. This is why I’m not much for getting together with other poets live and in person. I’m much more comfortable peeling back layers online than in front of people! That way if they’re laughing the cocktail laugh, I don’t know it and we all live happily ever after!

  3. I would love to meet a few of favorite writers that I feel akin to. Met one in PA a couple of years ago. Had another suggest meeting on middle ground that have yet to reply to— not for not wanting to meet, but because of my own insecurities over whether I’m worthy to be in such company, and whether the “real me” would live up to any preconceptions— my self-conscious early years coming back to haunt me. So yeah, I can absolutely relate to what you are saying in this, Joe. It’s nice to know I am not alone in my insecurities. Do we ever outgrow them?!!

Leave a Reply

