All for a Flicker

I must admit to the numbness,
the loss of feeling, because
I’ve gone too long since
feeling warmth against my cold self.
Whatever coziness within
comes from a fleeting flame,
a lick of yellow without a spark,
providing little light with which
to inspect the darkness within.
The occasional obsession,
the headlong chase for no other reason
than to fan the ephemeral flicker,
burned me since I followed two miles
a block behind that girl in grade school,
all the way to her home.
Burned but not really illuminated,
I acquired this soot-seared heart.
But outside?
Scarred and bruised.
Chill and unfeeling.
I cannot accept what I
cannot give; cannot give
what I no longer can feel,
and have lost the key
to remembering.

One thought on “All for a Flicker

Leave a Reply

