Spare Change

Here, take this for your journey,
the one we all must wander
and ultimately finish alone.
That’s how I’ve made my way
across this expanse — past you,
the hope in me, the dark, the light,
that unrecognizable song on the wind,
the shaking limbs of trees
and those of my body.
Alone.
I’m presenting it to you
with these shivering hands.
It’s too heavy for me to carry
anymore where I must go,
but it’s too dear to bury,
becoming some treasure forgotten,
its loving shine grown tarnished.
I didn’t mint it for saving,
but to pay the toll on this
lonely road I’ve traveled.
And the jingle of it in my pockets
is killing me.

2 thoughts on “Spare Change

  1. Pingback: Spare Change | mollyellarae

Leave a Reply

