This Shore of a December Night

IMG_0198

There’s an icy down
on the blades of grass.
Crystalline, knife-edged
atoms of winter have scraped
the little green that remains
of the blanket spring and summer
wove upon this bed where now they sleep.
I move outside, slowly stepping
my way west toward
the oaken stump I once built,
with my own blade,
my own knife-edged intent
to bring color to the spot
where light refused to shine.

Upon this veil of rime,
the hazy shape of a man appears,
stealing what I sweated so hard
to free. I turn to discover
the tide of another day
inching over the rooftops,
turning the frost to
a million million prisms
that will soon surrender to dawn
and a wave of dormant green
that inches toward me, warm upon
this shore of a December night.

One thought on “This Shore of a December Night

  1. I absolutely loved reading this and is my favorite thus far. Brilliantly crafted! I am so glad to have stumbled upon your blog and am looking forward to reading more of your posts in the days to come. Cheers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

