Heart-Blood

640px-Greenwood_Lake_Autumn_on_the_Hudson-Jasper_Francis_Cropsey-1875
Autumn on the Hudson, by Jasper Francis Cropsey, 1875

I miss those times we’d walk side by side,
the breeze, your breath, brushing
my face softly as I inhaled you.
I’m afraid I’m misplacing us among
so many of my memories, losing you
to fog-bound years, to our time apart.
To forget those days we touched,
how we turned gray and then white together,
how you always would echo back
to the vision of how you looked
the first time I saw you, would leave
my soul dry as a forever drought.
You’ll never know the many times
I spent watching you as you’d lie there
and I sat transfixed, dreaming,
at your bedside. The train would sound
in the distance and I knew my time
had come. But always I would linger.
You’ve been the route by which feelings
finally came upon me and emotions
floated away, the coursing blood
in my history, the ink in my pen.
Carve your scar deeper into me,
Great North River, heart-blood of empire,
companion, inspiration, muse.
Never let me go.

A poem of my personal and artistic relationship with the Hudson River, one I fear fading into a sad distance with age and geography.

2 thoughts on “Heart-Blood

Leave a Reply

