The Shoes You Only Wear in This Rain

Muddy-shoes

They’re falling all around me now,
the large and small, old and young,
so many that it feels like
the rains in Spring, their passing,
the sound of water dripping,
falling off the eaves of my heart.
And still I’m here, chronicling
what I don’t think I want to know.
Is there a light you lope after?
Or do you fly like a moth until then?
Does the light, all of it, just go out?
Not a flicker, nor a dimming. Just…
nothing.

These unusual secrets my raindrops
took with them when they fell,
even though I watched and listened
when some of them did.
It wasn’t just a ping on a tin roof
followed by a plop in the muddy puddle
of their mingling with earth.
It was natural, gravity winning out
over angels’ wings, the wings that wrung
these showers from those clouds,
that rat-a-tatted on the corrugated
prayers you huddle beneath,
that collect on your cheeks and spatter
the blessed mud of their ashes
on the shiny shoes you only wear
in this spate of rain.

There have been just too many over too short a time, and I can’t take any more.

3 thoughts on “The Shoes You Only Wear in This Rain

  1. Powerfully written, as only someone who feels the pain can do. I am finding that I am impacted by the death of many people who I knew in the distant past but haven’t kept in touch with. I don’t know if there is a way to mitigate the loss by continuing to add people to our lives. I visited my grandmother when I was a young adult and she said, “Patty, everyone I know has gone.” I told her that she still had me but I now know what she was telling me. It creates a different type of loneliness as we age.

Leave a Reply

