Did You Ever?

Did you ever use the morning sun’s
reflection off the big window
to watch me laugh from across the room?
A silent film to which a heartstring
quartet would play accompaniment.
Did you ever contort your body
in various yogic bends to see me
in 90- to 270-degree tests
of mental as well as physical dexterity.
Did you ever consider orbiting the room,
offering blithe small talk in passing,
even to other creeps, just to see
my dark side? Did you ever look up
at me and smile, wonder if, give me
a walk-on role in an idle
two-fifteen daydream? No,
I guess not. What, did I ever?
Of course not. Don’t be silly.
I mean, seriously! Heh…
Did you ever…?!

One thought on “Did You Ever?

Leave a Reply

