Twenty Knocks & Twenty More

IMG_0076

The house’s shadows
reach from dawn to the pines,
while the oaks tower above
and reach beyond them all.
The coda from spring songs signal
the second act of courtship
as new nests settle where
last month only glances
lit and then flew home.
Awakened here in my nest,
I watch it all ~
the sun reeling back its
shadows like I roll up
the blinds, the rabbits
browsing on clover for breakfast,
the pines shaking loose robins
like flame-chested cones.
When a day feels too much to bear,
I’ll remember how woodpecker
challenged oak’s supremacy
twenty knocks at a time.

3 thoughts on “Twenty Knocks & Twenty More

  1. My son thinks I am hopelessly addicted to happy endings, asked once why more often than not I end my writing on a positive note. I’ve always tried to be a “glass half-full” kind of person. Except of course, for the times I am not… Perhaps that is what I try to project, because I that is what I’m trying to convince myself to be. Loved this, Joe, especially
    “When a day feels too much to bear,
    I’ll remember how woodpecker
    challenged oak’s supremacy
    twenty knocks at a time.”

    Sometimes we need a reminder.

    • I think nature likes a balance, or at least MY nature does. I used to say I write pretty poems to balance the gritty stories. But now I think each has a balance of “pretty” and “gritty.” I’ve been told that’s my “voice.” If someone recognizes a Hesch piece because of that, I’ll be a content scribbler. Thank you, as always, Gin. You’re one of those few who prop up my flabby contentment. 😉🌹

Leave a Reply

