Thirty-Nine Over A Hundred

40c7e904ac87e17a779d4e762b35295e

It seems not long ago
when I traded a life
of deep dark for one
in the twilight with you.
These shadows have always
towered over me, just as
I’ve always dragged them.
I just wish I didn’t
shift them onto Us when
You and I became We.
In the dim light, you pled
not to hurt you.
I didn’t, but it seems
I’ve done not much but
hurt since then.
It’s my darkness,
these cursed shadows,
they dim my sight
and I race headlong
into pain, its burden
holding tight against
the light you shine
to cast them away.

The title? Don’t ask, ’cause I ain’t telling’… 
…As if I know.

One thought on “Thirty-Nine Over A Hundred

Leave a Reply

