No Escape

 REUTERS/Dario Pignatelli (ITALY)

REUTERS/Dario Pignatelli (ITALY)

I’m captive within this decaying prison,
it’s foundation sinking and windows awry.
Sentenced here for life with the dark
inmates I’d have hoped to have escaped,
but have only seen more threaten me daily.

They go by the name of Secrets and Failures,
gangs that sometimes seem to outnumber
even the Pains and Regrets that have ruled
inside for most of my stretch.

Each day’s another beatdown, another threat,
another shank between my ribs that rips
my scarred place of solitary confinement,
from which another Secret makes a run for it,
leaving me lying, as another Secret takes its place.

One thought on “No Escape

Leave a Reply

