Fixing the Fixer

119646050-2

They say I was a fixer
who too often broke his share.
I left a trail of shattered
promises, mirrors, expectations,
dreams behind me. I’d ask
your forgiveness and permission
to attempt to repair them.
But they never go back
to their original condition.
And for that, you turn from me,
lash out at me, ignore me,
hate me, maybe even secretly
wish I could fix myself.
But this fixer’s lost so many
of his pieces over these years.
Left behind or misplaced memories,
bonds, friendships, loves,
feelings and sensations
none of which I could rebuild
as they once were. Maybe that’s
why my gimpy body now limps
in vain hope of bringing pieces
of us back together again. I know
it’s not my legs that are broken,
but this heart we shattered together.

3 thoughts on “Fixing the Fixer

  1. Joe, another one of your poems that feels pinpoint-personal and captures an emotion so specific, yet all readers will feel like it was written especially for them/him/her. You are such a talented poet, sir.

    • Thank you, Jo-Anne. These days, I’m trying to balance my time between my two genres. But this one took all of ten minutes. No revision. You know me, One-Take Hesch. I always appreciate hearing from you, no matter the subject.

Leave a Reply

