So The Poets Tell Me

rainbow-pasta-necklace

He asked me how I do this,
lacing words like macaroni
on a string of some thread
of a thought, like it’s
a Mother’s Day gift necklace
you dutifully made in second Grade.
Sometimes it’s that easy,
and it looks it, wonky doggerel
with broken mini penne sticking out
like a the the in the third line.
Other times, when you want to weave
something special,
like a fine Navajo blanket in verse,
it comes out looking like
one of those potholders you’d make
from stretchy bands on
a comb-toothed frame in Cub Scouts.
But when the right thought,
the right words,
the right secret sauce
of frantic inspiration
comes along,
thirty minutes staring into
the pale blue haze
of a laptop screen
just before dawn
can feel like only
a heartbeat, and look like
a poetic sundown sky scape
from the pages
of Arizona Highways.
Or so The Poets tell me.

Sorta, kinda inspired by my brother. Thanks, Mike. This probably doesn’t answer your question, but to think about the How usually ends up with me asking myself Why. And that’s a question I don’t think I can answer in one of my pieces of pasta jewelry like the word one above.

2 thoughts on “So The Poets Tell Me

  1. I smiled as I read – a smile from knowing how wonderful it feels when my words are strung together in a way that perfectly says what I want to say. How frustrating it was when I was working on my dissertation and would write a perfect paragraph – that I later realized didn’t fit anywhere in the logical flow. I think I have a file of these somewhere because I couldn’t delete them – they were so perfect.

Leave a Reply

