Venus, Galileo & The Center of the Universe

Weren’t you lucky to make
that great discovery,
tipping the axis of not only
your world, but every satellite
held in your gravitational thrall?
But that’s Lady Luck, be she
good, bad or just dumb.
She was impervious to your
celestial attraction, but you
were not to hers. I made such
a discovery, but not until
I passed through your orbit,
and that too close,
for too long.

Salving my burns on the way out,
I was lucky enough to look back
to find you weren’t the center
of my universe. You weren’t
even the center of yours.
But I can live with these scars,
I’ve found other stars around whom
I’ll glide but never alight.
Look all around, not only
down and within, and maybe
someday our paths will
align once again. No longer
cracked mirrors, but diamonds
shining our rainbow illuminations
for whatever short spins
we’ve got left.

Day 7 of Poem-a-Day NaPoWriMo, using a combined prompt for poems of discovery and fortuitousness.

Leave a Reply

