Perfectly Forever

Romantics like to
think in absolutes.
When they fall in love,
that perfect love,
they hope it lasts forever.
But there’s no forever,
just as there’s no perfect.
Of course, that statement
sounds framed in absolutes,
binaries, black and white.
If, indeed, I spoke it
with such ironclad surety,
absolutes, if you will,
and romantics like to speak
in such terms because
it gives them security
in their feelings like
I would be secure in my
pronouncements, does that
make me a romantic, too?
I once thought I was,
but my imperfections
sentenced me to consecutive
terms of endearment.
Forever.

I guess this piece encapsulates the difficulty in being Joe the Poet and Joe the Failed Logician.

One thought on “Perfectly Forever

Leave a Reply

