So Easy, So Easy

The first time I heard you
in ‘68, I stopped as if
a rider pulled my reins and
I heard a someone shout, “Whoa!”
It was my own voice.
When I finally saw your face,
those big hot chocolate eyes,
the Cheshire cat lips from which
came an angel chorus that could
coo babies to sleep or roar
the rust off a battleship,
a lifelong crush began.
Now your gift is silenced.
But older me maintains your
image and voice inside,
where that boy keeps burning his
torch to the nail-hard, yet
cloud-soft spirit carrying you
through your days and mine.
The youngsters can’t yet know
what it means to fall in love daily
for half a century with the
unattainable nonpareil. I do,
each time I spin “Heart Like a Wheel.”
Then, it’s so easy to fall in love…

Every now and then, though I try not to think about it, I realize what we lost when Parkinson’s Disease  silenced the brilliant gift of singer Linda Ronstadt, the artist I’ve crushed on since 1968. This poem reads like teen-aged fanboy blathering because one wrote it. It just took about fifty years in the writing.

4 thoughts on “So Easy, So Easy

  1. ‘roar the rust off a battleship’, great analogy! Used to say she could pull that voice up from her bootstraps. I’ve always been a fan of hers too, but she has Parkinson’s not MS.

    • Thanks, Robynne. You’re 100% right. I knew it was Parkinson’s from having watched or read a handful or so interviews she’s done on her condition. Just a complete brain cramp on my part from typing up the note too darn fast. Should’ve left the poem just stand on its own. Thanks again for reading and commenting.

Leave a Reply

