Night So Long

The nights are so long
when I’m alone in my bed,
sleep having left me for another.
And yet I wait, listening
to the tick-tock of my heart
beat out the stretch of time
between laying my head
on the pillow and when that imposter
embraces me until my eyes open
and I find it wasn’t sleep,
but some ragged shadow held me down
while it sucked more time from
my life than just the few hours
I tossed in her arms. Maybe
it would be different if you
were here, too. But then nights
would be too short.

2 thoughts on “Night So Long

  1. ” and you find it wasn’t sleep.” ” Maybe it would be different if you were here too.” I liked the poem but am confused by the useage of the word you when you are the one speaking. Please explain. Thanks

Leave a Reply

