Asking for Directions

Robert Earl Keen tells me
the road goes on forever
and the party never ends.
But sometimes you reach
a crossroads, or a fork
in your life’s road.
And if you have no map,
or go off the reservation,
you could take a wrong turn,
if there’s such a thing
as “wrong” on your journey.
I only know I never could
remember the way back
from those corners I cut
when I left the path
others set for me.
But these latter days, as I
grow old on the trail,
no matter which way I turn,
I see nothing but dead ends
and I’m not ready to stop.
So that’s why I’m asking you,
since you’re still running
and look like you’re enjoying
your trip more than getting
to that dark place where
the exit signs are turned off,
“Which way to the party?”

3 thoughts on “Asking for Directions

  1. A different take on the theme of the road less traveled. I can fully appreciate your poem, well-written, well-imbued with the color and tone of one lost off the trail. I can’t resist answering your poet’s voiced plea — become the party, and have the cocktail fixings ready!

Leave a Reply

