As Far As I Can See

Dewdrop diamonds glitter
in the brush of a lawn that
gave up its grass majority years ago.
But it’s greener than ever.
As far as I can see.
The housetops across the road
wear halos brassy as church bells
this Sunday dawn. The sun’s probably
as bright as it was when I was a kid,
but I can’t say that for a fact.
Now it filters into my eyes past
progressive lenses, gestating cataracts
and glaucoma’s shrinking field
of left-right and up-down.
But I notice so much more of its
intrinsic glory now then I did then.
It means more to me now, as I write
each day’s biography from my obsolescent
point of view. Probably why I wake
so early and go to sleep so late.
Sight might be leaving me with each
sunset, but more vision comes with
the next dawn.
As far as I can see.

3 thoughts on “As Far As I Can See

  1. How beautifully written, Joseph. Some would call what you describe as compensation for what is lost – I call it a hidden opportunity from a brain that is still looking for more life.

    • Thank you, Pat. These past few years have provided me with my share of hard-earned knowledge. I think my old Human Resources might call them “improvement opportunities.” Whether I’ve improved I’ll leave to those who knew me when. 😉 Thank you for your continuing support.

Leave a Reply

