When I Was Born

“When I was born,”
Grandpa’d say,
recalling his youth.
Not, “In my day,”
like other old-timers.
used the expression
whenever discussing
the Great Depression.

Today I’m the same age
he was then,
though not nearly as old.
I see when
he looked back, he saw
each day as new morn,
another time
he’d be reborn.

I wanted to use the last Story-a-Day Week One prompt, “When I was born…”, for a story, but ran out of time. I saw my old friend Joy Ann Jones was running a new series looking for 55-word poems, so I’m trying to do justice to both. And since today is my birthday and I’ve reached “that age,” I decided to write knowledge-of-age poem. So there you go…

2 thoughts on “When I Was Born

  1. Joe–so good to read you, and this wry, wise poem fits perfectly in a 55 word frame; whether we are 55 or 65 or beyond, each day is a new beginning, and each tale the rebirth of an older story. Thanks so much for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

