(cummings &) goings of the heart



with so many
parenthetical asides,
you would think
i
(the poetic prince
of prolific parentheses)
would have a better
understanding of

[i carry your heart with me (carry it in].

but that would require
understanding my own
heart
(that chambered vessel)
through which blood
comes
and
goes
like your love,
dancing to a shuffle beat
(thu-dum) (thu-dum).

perhaps my heart
is a dreamer,
always sitting
next to the stream,
tossing concentric circles of
we-ares
into the drift, instead of
iambs.

but while the out
-pouring
of your heart
(the messy poetic one)
may be nomadic,
that flow is ever
(just like in our physical hearts)
migratory,

always returning to mine,
where it doesn’t
even understand why
it belongs.

it just does.
(you know)

the answer may be simple —
despite our being
so complicated.
as the poet said…

i carry your heart
(i carry it in my heart)

On Day 23 of my Poem-a-Day quest, i was to write a "(something) of the heart” poem. Yeah, I do that a lot. But I went back to e.e. cummings for some inspiration. Once again, he came through -- in his own (and my) quirky way. So that’s why this poem is titled “(cummings &) goings of the heart".

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.