He Just Belongs

guitar-close-up-string-bend

Mom and Dad gave Billy that dime store guitar
when he was little. He took it from there.
I left home, and when I orbited back,
he’d transformed himself into a big ball of
Toy Caldwell, Richard Betts and Jerry Garcia.
The kid with the plastic-stringed plywood box
now strode onto stages a guitar god.
But when he gave in to his blues…oh my.

Under the lights, with that Strat in his hands,
he finally was who he was meant to be…himself.
He could raise us up, then make us cry,
all with a two-step bend of a G.
Then he’d release it, like he did one night
with his spirit, to sit in with Toy and Jerry.
He’ll never have to give up his seat.
Stevie Ray says he’s got his back.
He’s Wild Bill and they all know
he just belongs.

My friend Anthony Desmond has asked folks to write a poem about music. My relationship with music is deep as the Marianas Trench, but it’s center of gravity always is my late brother Bill.

17 thoughts on “He Just Belongs

  1. This is an incredible piece, brother, strong as a six-string slide, painful, beautiful, touching, so personal it almost hurts to read it, yet a tribute for sure; and talk about rocking the prompt, Jesus laughed before he wept, & he hangs at the juke joint the blues men keep rocking 24/7 up there.

  2. Such fascinating piece –
    “he finally was who he was meant to be…himself.
    He could raise us up, then make us cry,
    all with a two-step bend of a G.”

    Quite a journey, loved it.

  3. So heartfelt. I too love the line “he finally was who he was meant to be… himself.” I’m sure your brother must have known that you understood what the music meant to him. And that understanding was a lovely gift.

    I’m sorry for your loss, Joe.

  4. Pingback: Dualing Banjo’s of dVerse Poet’s Pub | KATiE MiA FredericK!iI

  5. Joe, this was a wonderful tribute to your brother. And what a place for him to find himself – truly. I really liked your incredible line — “he finally was who he was meant to be – himself.’ That is all anyone should wish for anyone, I think….to be themselves.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.