until i knew



until i knew
where you hid
the cracks in your life,
not the scars of
glued-together shards
that show your strength
for all to see, but the
shattered walls within,
held together
only by glaze, shadow
and will, fired in
the kiln of childhood
and refired in unquenchable
expectations and
burnt-dry reality,
i thought i couldn’t
love you more. but then
you allowed my light
into your deep places
webbed by worry and doubt,
unseeable until
you’re poured out empty,
where a bump or
thoughtless touch could
bring the whole thing down,
and, oh, i found i could.

Day 29, the penultimate (one of those poet words) day of NaPoWriMo 2024. The prompt of the day was to write a poem entitled “Until (something).” I didn’t know what to do for a while. Not uncommon. But I hate staring at a blank word processor page - I think it might be the blinking cursor tapping its toe in impatience. So I tapped back “until i knew,” because that was quite true. That cracked open my shattered pitcher of thought and imagination. And here we are. (Photo by Elena Mozhvilo on Unsplash.)

4 thoughts on “until i knew

    • Thanks for reading, Helen. Your commentary is always important to this old hack. Unfortunately, it came through as code, so I don’t know what you were trying to tell me. Hey, isn’t that what many of my readers say about my poetry?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.